American Development Model



    The ADM is comprised of five stages designed to create a healthy sport experience and support an athlete’s advancement based on their physical, mental and emotional level, and potential for growth.

    5 Stages to a better sport experience info graphic

    1. Discover, Learn & Play (Age 0-12)

    2. Develop & Challenge (Age 10-16)

    3. Train & Compete (Age 13-19)

    4. Participate & Succeed (Age 15+)

    5. Thrive & Mentor (Age: For life)

    United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee logo with a flag and rings, plus a flag and agitos.

    Follow us


    • Accessibility
    • Finance
    • Governance
    • Privacy Policy , opens in a new tab
    • Terms of Use , opens in a new tab
    • Site Map

    © 2024 United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee. All Rights Reserved.