2022 Men's Hockey By The Numbers

Team USA By The Numbers
David Backes of The United States in action during the ice hockey men's preliminary game between USA and Switzerland on day 5 of the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics at Canada Hockey Place on February 16, 2010 in Vancouver, Canada. (Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images)

  • The 25-member men’s hockey team is fully comprised of athletes who have competed or are currently competing collegiately across 14 schools.
  • Minnesota and Michigan lead the way with four athletes. Boston College, Boston University, Harvard, St. Cloud State and Yale have two athletes competing, while Denver, Ferris State, Miami, Minnesota Duluth, Minnesota State, North Dakota and Nebraska-Omaha all have one athlete competing for Team USA.
  • Twenty players from Team USA boast a combined 34 NCAA tournament appearances while in college; among the group are three NCAA champions: Kenny Agostino (Yale/2013), Noah Cates (Minnesota Duluth/2019 and 2021) and David Warsofsky (Boston University/2009).
  • The Beijing Olympic Winter Games mark the first time since 1988 the full U.S. men’s hockey roster will be comprised of players who have competed or are currently competing collegiately.
  • This year’s team has 15 student-athletes who currently are competing at a U.S. college or university. No other U.S. team in Beijing has as much representation by current student-athletes.
  • The U.S. men’s hockey team has medaled 11 times at the Olympic Winter Games – the first medal dates back to 1920 (silver) and the most recent was won in 2010 (silver).

  • Boston College has had an athlete on every U.S. Olympic Men's Ice Hockey Team dating back to 1984 - no other school can claim that feat.
  • This winter in Beijing, Nebraska-Omaha will celebrate its first-ever hockey Olympian in Brian Cooper.
  • Not only are Nick Abruzzese and Sean Farrell teammates at Harvard, they’re also linemates for the Crimson.
  • When Andy Miele takes the ice, he’ll become Miami University’s first U.S. winter Olympian. Miele won the Hobey Baker Memorial Award as the top player in NCAA Division I men’s ice hockey in 2011.
  • Minnesota’s illustrious men’s hockey history will be on full display in Beijing. With four Gophers on the team, the program now boasts 59 U.S. Olympians dating back to the 1936 Games.
  • This winter, Yale will celebrate 90 years since the school first had student-athletes representing the United States in the sport of ice hockey; in 1932, five Yalies won gold for Team USA in Lake Placid, New York.
  • St. Cloud State’s Nick Perbix and Sam Hentges – both current Huskies – will be joined by their current head coach, Brett Larson, who will be serving as a U.S. assistant coach in Beijing.

  • Brian O’Neill (Yale) is the only Olympic veteran on the 2022 U.S. Olympic Men’s Ice Hockey Team; he previously competed for Team USA in 2018.
  • The youngest player on the team is 19-year-old Matty Beniers (Michigan) and the oldest is 34-year-old Pat Nagle (Ferris State). The average age across the U.S. men’s hockey team is just over 25 years, the youngest U.S. team on average since 1994.
  • As the Olympic Winter Games kick off, Team USA’s Nathan Smith (Minnesota State) leads the NCAA Division I hockey leaderboard with 41 points on the season (15 goals/26 assists). He is joined by his head coach at Minnesota State, Mike Hastings, who is serving as an assistant coach for Team USA.
  • The Beijing Olympics won’t be the first time Drew Commesso (Boston University) shares the ice with U.S. teammates Marc McLaughlin and Drew Helleson (Boston College). The college rivals squared off against each other on December 10, and the game ended in a 3-3 overtime tie.
  • Denver’s Nick Shore enters Beijing as Team USA’s most-experienced NHL player, totaling nearly 300 regular-season games in his career.

  • Head coach David Quinn and assistant coach Scott Young coached together at their alma mater – Boston University. They were also Terrier teammates in the mid-80s.
  • The five-member U.S. men’s coaching staff competed collegiately across four schools: Minnesota Duluth, Providence, Boston University and St. Cloud State.