2022 Women's Hockey By The Numbers

Team USA By The Numbers
Amanda Kessel of Team USA battles for the puck in Women's Ice Hockey (Photo by Getty Images)

  • The 23-member women’s hockey team is fully comprised of athletes who have competed or will compete collegiately across nine different NCAA Division I programs.
  • Minnesota leads the way with eight athletes, followed by Wisconsin (five), Boston College (three) and Northeastern (two). Boston University, Clarkson, Lindenwood, Ohio State and Minnesota Duluth each have one athlete competing for Team USA in Beijing.
  • On the 23-member roster are four Patty Kazmaier Award winners – a USA Hockey honor annually bestowed upon the top women’s college hockey player: Brianna Decker/Wisconsin (2012); Amanda Kessel/Minnesota (2013), Alex Carpenter/Boston College (2015) and Kendall Coyne Schofield/Northeastern (2016).
  • The 23-member women’s hockey team is comprised of 11 NCAA women’s ice hockey champions:
    • Alex Cavallini, Hilary Knight, Brianna Decker and Abby Roque (Wisconsin); Dani Cameranesi, Megan Bozek, Hannah Brandt, Amanda Kessel, Lee Stecklein, Kelly Pannek (Minnesota); and Savannah Harmon (Clarkson).
  • The U.S. women’s hockey team has medaled in every Games since the sport was inaugurated into the Olympics in 1998: 1998 (gold), 2002 (silver), 2006 (bronze), 2010 (silver), 2014 (silver) and 2018 (gold).
  • In 2018, the U.S. defeated Canada, 3-2, in a shootout to reclaim the country’s first gold since 1998. The roster in Beijing will feature 13 returning 2018 Olympians.
  • The 2022 U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team has three current/incoming NCAA student-athletes: Abbey Murphy (Minnesota), Cayla Barnes (Boston College) and Caroline Harvey (incoming Wisconsin).

  • The University of Minnesota has had at least one athlete on every U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team since the sport’s inauguration into the Games. Minnesota is the only school to celebrate that milestone and the program boasts 16 U.S. Olympic women’s ice hockey medalists.
  • The U.S. women’s ice hockey team features several athletes who were college teammates, including:
    • Wisconsin: Hillary Knight, Brianna Decker and Alex Cavallini (2010-12).
    • Minnesota: Hannah Brandt, Dani Cameranesi, Amanda Kessel, Kelly Pannek and Lee Stecklein (2015-16).
    • Boston College: Alex Carpenter and Megan Keller (2014-16); Cayla Barnes and Megan Keller (2018-19).
    • Northeastern: Kendall Coyne Schofield and Hayley Scamurra (2014-16).
  • For the first time in women’s hockey history, Northeastern will boast multiple players on Team USA.

  • Savannah Harmon (Clarkson) will be her school’s first-ever U.S. female Olympian.
  • The youngest player on the team is 19-year-old Caroline Harvey (incoming Wisconsin) and the oldest player is 32-year-old Hilary Knight (Wisconsin).
  • Hillary Knight (Wisconsin) will become the fourth four-time U.S. women’s hockey Olympian in program history. She joins Jenny Potter (Minnesota Duluth), Angela Ruggiero (Harvard) and Julie Chu (Harvard) in this accomplishment.
  • Jincy Dunne (Ohio State) played several years of roller hockey before transitioning to the ice.
  • Lee Stecklein (Minnesota) notes her hockey hero as Olympian and 2022 assistant coach Courtney Kennedy (Colby/Minnesota as player/Boston College as associate head coach).
  • Amanda Kessel (Minnesota) and Jesse Compher (Boston University) will be cheered on by their active NHL brothers Phil Kessel (Minnesota/Arizona Coyotes) and J.T. Compher (Michigan/Colorado Avalanche).

  • Head coach Joel Johnson’s daughter, Megan, currently plays college hockey at his alma mater, Bethel University – a Division III school in St. Paul, Minn.
  • The four-member U.S. women’s coaching staff competed collegiately across five schools: RPI, Colby/Minnesota, Bethel and Alaska Anchorage.