U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Foundation News

U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Foundation Launches Team USA NextGen Program

by U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Foundation

Athletes in Gym

To engage the next generation of philanthropic leaders, the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Foundation (USOPF) has launched Team USA NextGen program, a community of young professionals with a passion for sport and the Olympic and Paralympic movements.

Representing diverse backgrounds, professions, locations and experience, NextGen leaders raise awareness of the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Committee’s mission and advocate for Team USA within their communities. 

The program was developed to engage a younger demographic, emphasize the importance of diversity, and reflect the composition of the U.S. Olympic and Paralympic Teams. NextGen began accepting applications in April of this year, and six months later, 23 influential young leaders from around the country comprise the budding NextGen community.

“NextGen members are poised to build strong philanthropic inroads through storytelling and fundraising as we anticipate the return of the Olympic and Paralympic Games to the United States,” said Christine Walshe, president of the USOPF. “The Olympic and Paralympic movements have the power to unite communities across all differences, and we are honored to have these new ambassadors as part of our efforts to bring people together through sport.”

The inaugural Team USA NextGen class includes:

  • Zack Berlan (New York)
  • Steve Bordeleau (Georgia)
  • Courtney Bowen (Maryland)
  • Noura Elfarra (California)
  • Sabrina Elfarra (California)
  • Russell Glass (California)
  • Aaron Hawkey (California)
  • Andrew Heinrich (New York)
  • Molly Hentz (Texas)
  • Sophia Hunt (Massachusetts)
  • Alexandra Killian (New York)
  • Malte Kramer (California)
  • Caroline Kutler (California)
  • Margaret Luna (California)
  • Clay Macfarlane (California)
  • Nick Plummer (New York)
  • Lizzy Porter (California)
  • Rachel Romer (Colorado)
  • Jackie Rooney (Washington, D.C.)
  • Maya Simkowitz (Utah)
  • Rena Simkowitz (California)
  • Audrey Warner (Massachusetts)
  • Thomas Webster (Minnesota)

If you are interested in learning more about the Team USA NextGen program, please contact Danielle Claudio at danielle.claudio@usopc.org.